The RBC Canadian Open Trophy

RBC Canadian Open Trophy (1994 to present)

RBC Canadian Open trophy


In 1994, tobacco companies were no longer permitted to advertise sponsorships, the RCGA sought a trophy that would withstand the changing nature of sponsorships.  The Canadian Open trophy was crafted in Colonial Williamsburg by a silversmith.  The sterling silver trophy has a map of Canada etched onto the top dome of the trophy, with various emblematic maple leaves, cupping the bowl.  Around the circumference of the dome are enameled flags representing each province and territory.  Because of the long and thin column supporting the globed top, a trophy base was not able to be attached directly to it.  The domed top is also a separate piece.  The trophy base is made of Canadian maple and is inscribed with the names of the Canadian Open champions from 1904 to today.


1994 Nick Price

1995 Mark O’Meara

1996 Dudley Hart

1997 Steve Jones

1998 Billy Andrade

1999 Hal Sutton

2000 Tiger Woods

2001 Scott Verplank

2002 John Rollins

2003 Bob Tway

2004 Vijay Singh

2005 Mark Calcavecchia

2006 Jim Furyk

2007 Jim Furyk

2008 Chez Reavie

2009 Nathan Green

2010 Carl Pettersson

2011 Sean O’Hair

2012 Scott Piercy

2013 Brandt Snedeker

2014 Tim Clark

2015 Jason Day

2016 Jhonattan Vegas

2017 Jhonattan Vegas

2018 Dustin Johnson

2019 Rory McIlroy

2022 Rory McIlroy


2022 Canadian Open champion, Rory McIlroy

If you are interested in learning more about the Canadian Open please check out these trophies.

The Seagram Gold CupThe du Maurier Trophy, and The Canadian Open Gold Medal.