Earl Grey Cup

Canadian Men’s Amateur Trophy (1908 – Present)

Earl Grey Cup

There is no amateur golf championship in Canada with a richer history than the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship. Following the 1907 championship, the Aberdeen Cup was retired and was replaced the following year with the Earl Grey Cup. A match play event from the time of the Aberdeen Cup, the Amateur changed to stroke play for the 1969 championship and remained that way through 1994 when it reverted to match play in honour of the RCGA’s and the championship’s centennial in 1995. The championship once again reverted to stroke play in 2008. In 2010, the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship changed to a double field format for the first time ever. Named after and donated by Canada’s Governor General at the time, Lord Earl Grey, the Earl Grey Cup has been handed out yearly to the Men’s Amateur champion since 1908. The top of the trophy is made from sterling silver, and has been crafted into an octagonal bowl with lions’ heads on two sides for its handles. The names of past champions are engraved on its sides. The base is made of solid marble interspersed with four individual rings of maple surrounding sections of the marble, and also has the names of past champions engraved on individual sterling silver plaques that are attached to the maple sections.

1908 A. Wilson Jr.

1909 E. Legge

1910 Fritz Martin

1911 G.H. Hutton

1912 George S. Lyon

1913 G.H. Turpin

1914 George S. Lyon

1915-18 No championship

1919 W. McLuckie

1920 C.B. Grier

1921 Frank Thompson

1922 C.C. Fraser

1923 W.J. Thompson

1924 Frank Thompson

1925 Donald D. Carrick

1926 C. Ross Somerville

1927 Donald D. Carrick

1928 C. Ross Somerville

1929 Eddie Held

1930 C. Ross Somerville

1931 C. Ross Somerville

1932 Gordon B. Taylor

1933 Albert Campbell

1934 Albert Campbell

1935 C. Ross Somerville

1937 C. Ross Somerville

1938 Ted Adams

1939 Ken Black

1940-45 No championship

1946 Henry Martell

1947 Frank Stranahan

1948 Frank Stranahan

1949 R.D. Chapman

1950 Bill Mawhinney

1951 Walter McElroy

1952 Larry Bouchey

1953 Don Cherry

1954 Harvie Ward, Jr.

1955 Moe Norman

1956 Moe Norman

1957 Nick Weslock

1958 Bruce Casator

1959 John Johnston

1960 R. Keith Alexander

1961 Gary Cowan

1962 Reg Taylor

1963 Nick Weslock

1964 Nick Weslock

1965 George “Bunky” Henry

1966 Nick Weslock

1967 Stuart G. Jones

1968 Jim Doyle

1969 Wayne McDonald

1970 Allen Miller

1971 Richard Siderowf

1972 Doug Roxburgh

1973 George Burns III

1974 Doug Roxburgh

1975 Jim Nelford

1976 Jim Nelford

1977 Rod Spittle

1978 Rod Spittle

1979 Rafael Alarcon

1980 Greg Olson

1981 Richard Zokol

1982 Doug Roxburgh

1983 Danny Mijovic

1984 Bill Swartz

1985 Brent Franklin

1986 Brent Franklin

1987 Brent Franklin

1988 Doug Roxburgh

1989 Peter Major

1990 Warren Sye

1991 Jeff Kraemer

1992 Darren Ritchie

1993 Gary Simpson

1994 Warren Sye

1995 Garrett Willis

1996 Rob McMillan

1997 Dan Goehring

1998 Craig Matthew

1999 Han Lee

2000 Han Lee

2001 Gareth Paddison

2002 Dillard Pruitt

2003 Richard Scott

2004 Darren Wallace

2005 Richard Scott

2006 Richard Scott

2007 Nick Taylor

2008 Cam Burke

2009 Cam Burke

2010 Albin Choi

2011 Mackenzie Hughes

2012 Mackenzie Hughes

2013 Eli Cole

2014 James Beale

2015 Billy Kennerly

2016 Hugo Bernard

2017 Zach Bauchou

2018 Zach Bauchou

2019 William Buhl

2022 Luis Carrera



Luis Carrera, 2022 Canadian Men’s Amateur champion

If you are interested in learning more about the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship please check out these trophies.

Willingdon Cup, and Aberdeen Cup