The Rivermead Challenge Cup

Awarded to the Canadian Open champion from 1920 through 1935

The Rivermead Challenge Trophy

Prior to 1920, the winner of the Canadian Open received a gold medal, and the runner-up received a silver medal.  The 1920 Canadian Open was contested at Rivermead Golf Club in Ottawa, Ontario.  The club believed that the winner should receive a trophy that could be presented annually; a trophy that would epitomize the national championship, this thought initiated the use of the Rivermead Challenge Cup.  The first recipient was J.D. Edger. After the introduction of The Seagram Gold Cup the Rivermead became the trophy awarded to the low Canadian professional in the Canadian Open.


Champions engraved on the Rivermead Cup (Canadian Open winner)

1920 J.D. Edgar

1921 W.H. Trovinger

1922 Al Watrous

1923 Clarence Hackney

1924 Leo Diegel

1925 Leo Diegel

1926 Macdonald Smith

1927 Tommy Armour


Low Canadian Professionals engraved on the Rivermead Cup

1936 Robert Gray

1937 Robert Alston

1938 Lex Robson

1939 Stan Horne

1940 Robert Gray

1941 Robert Gray

1942 Gordon Brydson

1943 – 1944 –  not presented due to war

1945 Stan Leonard

1946 Stan Leonard

1947 Robert Gray

1948 Fred Wood

1949 Bill Ker

1950 Stan Leonard

1951 Stan Leonard

1952 Stan Leonard

1953 Pat Fletcher

1954 Pat Fletcher

1955 Stan Leonard

1956 Gordon Brydson

1957 Johnny Henrick

1958 Stan Leonard

1959 Stan Leonard

1960 Al Johnston

1961 Stan Leonard

1962 – 2006 – not presented

2007 Stephen Ames

2008 Mike Weir

2009 Chris Baryla and Stephen Ames

2010 Adam Hadwin

2011 Adam Hadwin

2012 Graham DeLaet

2013 David Hearn

2014 Graham DeLaet

2015 David Hearn

2016 Adam Hadwin

2017 Mackenzie Hughes

2018 Mackenzie Hughes

Top Canadian Professional at the RBC Canadian Open Mackenzie Hughes.